## **OSB Agricultural Law Section**

Executive Committee Meeting Minutes September 6, 2013

The Executive Committee Meeting of the Oregon State Bar Association Agricultural Law Section was held via teleconference on Friday, September 6, 2013. The meeting convened at 8:30 a.m., Chair Wyatt Rolfe presiding.

1. Roll call. Those in attendance included:

Wyatt E. Rolfe, Chair Helen Nelson, Chair Elect Andrew G. Martin, Past Chair Karin E. Dallas, Secretary Michael J. Gelardi, Treasurer Caroline Lobdell, Member-at-large Mary Anne Nash, Member-at-large

Also in attendance:

Bar Liaison Danielle Edwards

## **QUORUM WAS MET.**

- 2. Review of Minutes.
  - A. April and May minutes were previously approved by email vote.
  - B. June minutes reviewed: No changes recommended. Helen Nelson moved to approve the minutes. Caroline Lobdell seconded. Motion carried.
- 3. Treasurer's Report.
  - A. Treasurer Mike Gelardi reported that, as of the end of June, we have \$4,351.00. Our net gain since the start of the year is roughly \$500.00. We have spent 62% of our budget. We gained more members than anticipated, as we budgeted for 115 members and presently have 124 paying members and 4 complementary memberships.
- 4. Membership Subcommittee Report.
  - A. No report was given, as the committee members (Wyatt Rolfe, Caroline Lobdell and Mary Anne Nash) have not met; they plan to do so prior to the next meeting.
- 1 OSB Agricultural Law Section Minutes September 6, 2013

## 5. Old Business.

A. <u>Increase in Per-Member Assessment Fee / Increase in Section Dues</u>: The Bar's permember assessment fee will be increasing by \$1.50 for all sections, from \$6.00 per member to \$8.00. Our section dues are currently \$15.00 per member. After discussion, Caroline Lobdell moved that we raise our dues by \$1.50, from \$15.00 per member to \$16.50, to cover the increase in the assessment fee. Helen Nelson seconded the motion. The motion carried. Because of our dues increase, our Bylaws require that our October meeting be designated as our annual meeting.

## 6. New Business.

- A. <u>Formation of Nominating Committee</u>: The formation of a nominating committee made up of Executive Committee members Helen Nelson and Wyatt Rolfe and section member Heath Curtiss was previously approved by email vote.
- B. Nominating Committee's Presentation of 2014 Slate: Nine members of the Executive Committee have terms ending December 2013. Chuck Toole is not eligible to continue, as he has reached the maximum nine consecutive years of service. The remaining eight members, all of whom are eligible to fill open positions, are as follows: Brandy Sargent, Caroline Lobdell, Joe Hobson, Justin Gericke, Dave Baum, Kari Dallas, Mike Gelardi and Drew Martin. The Nominating Committee elected not to fill all open positions, due in part to recent difficulties in reaching a quorum and in part to wanting to balance the smaller number of terms expiring December 2014 (four). The 2014 slate is as follows:

<u>Executive Committee Members</u> (will serve a two-year term, from January 2014 through December 2015):

Brandy Sargent Caroline Lobdell Joe Hobson Kari Dallas Mike Gelardi Drew Martin

Officers (2014 calendar year):

Mary Anne Nash, Secretary Kari Dallas, Chair Elect Mike Gelardi, Treasurer

[Secretary's Note: Helen Nelson, Wyatt Rolfe, Mary Anne Nash and Brent Smith are serving continuing terms that do not expire until December 2014. Helen and Wyatt will automatically transition to Chair and Past Chair, respectively.]

Meeting adjourned at 8:55 a.m.
The date of the next meeting, which will be our annual meeting, is <u>Friday</u> , <u>October 4</u> , <u>2013</u> , <u>at 8:30 a.m.</u> We will vote on the 2014 slate, and nominations will also be accepted from the floor.